Quick Login:

'Tiger Zinda Hai' snubbed at Filmfare Awards 2018 nominations

Comments  Comments [ 3 ]    By IANS | 18 January 2018 | 5:38pm

tiger zinda hai

Salman Khan's "Tiger Zinda Hai" shook the Bollywood box office from slumber by registering record-breaking business last year, and "Newton" got global acclaim by becoming India's official entry for the Best Foreign Language Film at the Oscars 2018. But the two films failed to earn a nomination in the main categories for the 63rd Jio Filmfare Awards 2018.

The nominations list was released on Thursday.

"Tiger Zinda Hai", which released on December 22, minted Rs 206.04 crore in seven days. The film has been nominated in just one category -- Best Action, leaving out Salman from the Best Actor in a Leading Role category.

As for "Newton", starring Rajkummar Rao in a story set against the backdrop of elections in the world's largest democracy, has nominations across six categories. But neither is Rajkummar's widely lauded performance in the Best Actor category nor has the movie got a nod in the main categories.

Pankaj Tripathi has earned a nomination for Best Actor in a Supporting Role (Male) for the Amit V. Masurkar-directed "Newton", which also finds a mention in the Best Editing, Best Original Story, Best Dialogue, Best Screenplay and Best Cinematography categories.

Varun Dhawan's "Badrinath Ki Dulhania", Rajkummar's "Bareilly Ki Barfi", Irrfan Khan's "Hindi Medium", Aamir Khan's "Secret Superstar" and Akshay Kumar's "Toilet: Ek Prem Katha" are in contention for the Best Film trophy.

When it comes to Best Actor in a Leading Role (Male), Akshay ("Toilet: Ek Prem Katha"), Ayushmann Khurrana ("Shubh Mangal Saavdhan"), Hrithik Roshan ("Kaabil"), Irrfan ("Hindi Medium"), Shah Rukh Khan ("Raees") and Varun ("Badrinath Ki Dulhania") are in the race.

As far as the female counterparts are concerned, Pakistani actress Saba Qamar has been nominted in the Best Actor in a Leading Role (Female) for her role in "Hindi Medium". She will be fighting for the trophy with Alia Bhatt ("Badrinath Ki Dulhania"), Bhumi Pednekar ("Shubh Mangal Saavdhan"), Sridevi ("Mom"), Vidya Balan ("Tumhari Sulu") and Zaira Wasim ("Secret Superstar").

Advait Chandan, who made his directorial debut with Aamir's home production "Secret Superstar", Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari for "Bareilly Ki Barfi", Saket Chaudhary for "Hindi Medium", Shashank Khaitan for "Badrinath Ki Dulhania" and Shree Narayan Singh for "Toilet: Ek Prem Katha" are fighting for Best Director trophy.

The award gala will be held on January 20 here.

Copyright  IANS

User Rating  Rating(0 Votes)

Views  3290

Bookmark and Share

Go to top

User Comments

Join Bollycurry

If You are a member of India-forums, Then You can also log in here.

Quick Login

Salman Khan Salman Khan

Shah Rukh Khan Shah Rukh Khan

Akshay Kumar Akshay Kumar

Hrithik Roshan Hrithik Roshan

Aamir Khan Aamir Khan

Vidya Balan Vidya Balan

Varun Dhawan Varun Dhawan

Ayushmann Khurrana Ayushmann Khurrana

Alia Bhatt Alia Bhatt

Rajkummar Rao Rajkummar Rao

Irrfan Khan Irrfan Khan

Saba Qamar Saba Qamar

Pankaj Tripathi Pankaj Tripathi

Bhumi Pednekar Bhumi Pednekar

Zaira Wasim Zaira Wasim

Shashank Khaitan Shashank Khaitan

Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari Ashwiny Iyer Tiwari

Advait Chandan Advait Chandan

Shree Narayan Singh Shree Narayan Singh

Toilet: Ek Prem KathaToilet: Ek Prem Katha
Year : 2017

Badrinath Ki DulhaniaBadrinath Ki Dulhania
Year : 2017

Tiger Zinda HaiTiger Zinda Hai
Year : 2017

Year : 2017

Bareilly Ki BarfiBareilly Ki Barfi
Year : 2017

Year : 2017